Weekly Art Challenge: BLUE!

Hey Folks!!

This week our theme was: BLUE!

Just a friendly reminder for our followers! Starting the first week of January, Our art challenge will move to a new site. You can click here and check it out!

 

Karri

This week my goal was to mix as many different blues as possible. I decided to choose Miro as my inspiration. I simply used a lot of his commonly used shapes and used all blue with a few red accents.

I had a friend once tell me that while visiting Barcelona she explored a Museum dedicated to the work of Miro and it was the happiest few hours of her life. Ever since when I see work by Miro, I always smile and feel that joy my friend had described. Looking at Karri’s Miro inspired piece in blue, I am reminded again of that joyous feeling. Great job, Karri!

Karri blue

 

Dylan

“Thinking of the color blue, I think of my friend, Tori.Β  I want so badly to make this costume for her in the future. With her black hair and her pale northern skin, the color blue highlights her attributes in the most positive way.”

I can’t wait to see this costume come to life! Dylan’s eye for detail never ceases to amaze me. Her sketches are thoughtful and so full of creative passion. I think we all want to be Tori!

dylan blue

 

Bethany

“I am a Doctor Who fan so when I thinking of blue I think of the Tardis.”Β 

What a fun piece! I am not personally knowledgeable of the Doctor Who series, but I love the movement of the blue and find myself wanting to know more about this Tardis. lol.

bethany blue

 

Emily

“I’m really loving print making, probably spending too much time with just print making, but yeah. πŸ™‚ Lino print over a background created by putting white spirit and printing ink onto a surface then placing the paper over the top”

I am fascinated with the background of Emily’s piece. The thin watery texture of the blue ink juxtapose against the solid black of lino cut beautifully illustrates the flowers – which reminds me of lotuses – shooting from within dark murky blue water.

IMG_3351

 

Ina

‘Blue reminds me of the sky, the water, my favourite colour. Half way through thinking of painting water, I wanted to paint a blue landscape and finally came upon a bunched up shiny satin fabric…. the result is an imaginary piece where you can see as many things. ”

Beautiful ethereal watercolor. Ina beautifully captured the watery affect of the satin fabric. The movement, the calming color and the serene quality gently pulls the viewers in and invites one to peacefully dream.

Ina Blue

 

Amber – blueberries, Acrylic on paper.

As soon as the theme was chosen, blueberries immediately came to mind. The piece is not complete, but I think it turned out to be a good study for an idea I have for another piece. πŸ™‚

 

IMG_3363

 

Next theme: TIGER

About palechickstudios

Artist, Blogger, Traveler, Tea enthusiast View all posts by palechickstudios

3 responses to “Weekly Art Challenge: BLUE!

Leave a comment