Weekly Art Challenge: Artist’s Choice!

Hello folks!

We decided to give ourselves a two week challenge so that we could come up with something great.. lol but two of us, the epic procrastinators that we are, didn’t quite finish our work. We are still posting them, but please don’t judge the adults! Mikyla, however, did complete her challenge and therefore deserves to pick this week’s theme: Nature. Great theme choice!

 

Rj – Chameleon, paint – I know this is a 2D painting, but the colors and texture really look as though he created the lizard from this foam sculpting material I have seen in craft stores instead of acrylic. Which of course makes me want to reach in to play with it! The detail of the thousands of colorful scales is great and I love the intense eyeball! I can’t decide if the chameleon has seen dinner or if he just realized he is dinner. 🙂

Fish

 

Mikyla – Disney Castle, pen and crayon – Again, Mikyla has an eye for mature artistic detail! Setting her disney castle at night under twinkling stars and a crater marked moon was smart and creative.  I love that she used a pretty violet for the night sky and drew in a few bricks instead of filling the castle with tiny squares, it echoes the scattering of tiny stars and creates a balanced patterning. Beautiful!

Disney Castle

Amber – Dandelion Patch, acrylic, pen and graphite – Still drawing dandelions. What can I say, I love them! I still have a lot of work to add to this piece and I hope to finish it this week, if there is time. I want to glaze over the thick black border with a golden shimmer and add more pen and ink details to the leaves and flower buds. There are a few things I wish I did differently, mainly taken more time to paint the image in a better lit room, but I still think I can make it work 🙂

 

dandelion patch

 

 

Next theme: Nature!

About palechickstudios

Artist, Blogger, Traveler, Tea enthusiast View all posts by palechickstudios

Leave a Reply

