Weekly Art Challenge: Melted

Hello Folks!!

The theme for this week’s friendly art challenge is MELTED and I am super excited that we have a new participant! Rj’s very talented niece, Mikayla!! You are going to love her contribution!

RJ’s:  Frozen with pen. I love the glowing affect he achieved. The piece was originally larger but he trimmed it down to the present size. The original was to closer to the sketch seen below. I like that the finished product is focused so closely onto her face. The viewer then has to connect with her mournful violet eye and they must FEEL what she feels, and I do. I can feel the penetrating heat of a nearby fire and see its light reflecting off her skin as she thaws.

 

Melted Frozen

 

 

Frozen sketch

 

Mikayla’s: A Melting Olaf with pencil and crayon. I love how she captured Olaf’s jubilant nature as he melts beside the fireplace! Still wanting his warm hugs! She did a great job with Olaf’s face. I love the detail of the eye slipping behind the carrot, very clever. Can’t wait to see what she makes next week!

Melting Olaf

 

Mine:  I’m sticking with the same subject, the magnificent Dandelion, and created my weekly art challenge images by melting some of the billions of crayons my mother has saved from the billions of boxes we have bought for my young nieces onto sheets of watercolor paper.  lol, okay, we don’t have THAT many crayons; but, when you are fishing through a cookie tin loaded with purples and reds for the elusive yellow crayon, it certainly FEELS like a billion! The first image, Dandelion Puff, took longer than the second image, Dandelion Crowd, to create. I burned myself several times with the hairdryer and may have melted some crayon into the carpet – oops! I did have a lot of fun creating them; which is the main purpose of this challenge, to have fun trying out new ideas! I think they both turned out quite well for a first attempt. I may have to create some more and perfect my technique, already I am thinking of new ways work with melted crayons!!

 

Dandelion Puff

 

Dandelion crowd

 

Next week’s theme: TOMORROW

About palechickstudios

Artist, Blogger, Traveler, Tea enthusiast View all posts by palechickstudios

Leave a Reply

